Chicken Noodle Casserole

Last night I made a super-yummy casserole, filled with joy and warmth… and chicken, noodles, and the last of my summer veggies. It was delicious. This can be made with so many different ingredients, and that’s why it’s one of my favorites meals. It’s very versatile. In this casserole, I used zucchini, summer squash, red bell pepper and onion. All of which came from my garden that I had this summer, except the onion, which came from my dad’s garden.

My Dad has always had an amazing garden in the summer, he’s like a wizard! He grows the best vegetables, including cucumbers, green beans, zucchini, different types of squash, peppers of all varieties, asparagus, onion, garlic, rhubarb, and most importantly tomatoes. This year he helped me start my own garden, and it turned out pretty well for my first garden. We had a little set back in the beginning due to some deer, but we got a good amount of produce. I was even able to can my own spaghetti sauce from the tomatoes I grew. So for this dish I used my last red pepper, summer squash, and zucchini from the garden.

This is an extremely cozy meal, perfect for a cold fall or winter evening. But since I used summer vegetables, I feel like there is still a chance for warmth. I love how food can make you feel good and warm inside. For the sauce, I just used a can of cream of chicken soup, and little lite mayonnaise. I seasoned it with some Italian spices, and a little paprika. Now usually I will make a sauce instead of using the goopy canned soup, but I was being a little lazy last night, so I went for convenience.

Now that its getting a little cooler in the evenings, go make this casserole. You won’t regret it!

2014-09-24 18.51.04

Chicken Noodle Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken, cooked, diced
  • 8 oz. egg noodles
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 small zucchini, sliced
  • 1 small summer squash, sliced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1  10 oz can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a stainless steel skillet put in a tablespoon of olive oil over med high heat. Once heated add vegetables and saute until cooked through. Meanwhile, cook noodles according to package directions. In a small mixing bowl, stir together the soup, mayonnaise and seasonings.  Add diced chicken, vegetables, and cooked noodles into soup mixture and stir to combine. Pour mixture into casserole dish and sprinkle cheese on top of casserole. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees or until cheese it melted and casserole is heated through and bubbly.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

