Our Trip to Shelby

2014-09-28 11.54.47

Last weekend my husband and I traveled back to my hometown of Shelby, Ohio for my Mom’s birthday. The trees there are bursting with color, and fall is all around. We had a great weekend watching football, attempting to play tetherball, picking apples, and cooking. One of my favorite things to do is cook with my mom. This weekend we made Chicken Divan (a delicious casserole with chicken, ham, and broccoli), cinnamon apples, a chilled citrus and banana soup, chocolate chip date cake, and chocolate French toast (which was to die for!).

 2014-09-27 17.00.53

On our way out of town we stopped by a local apple orchard. They had many varieties to choose from. Jonalicious, Red Delicious, and Cortland were among the ones we picked. The jonalicious were my favorite. After we picked, we walked back to the country store and sampled some of the best apple cider and bought some apple donuts. The apple donuts are delicious! It is probably my favorite donut. If nothing else, this was worth the drive there. Everything was so good! I plan on making a bunch of apple recipes soon.

 2014-09-28 14.22.12

Apple Hill also has a pumpkin patch where you can pick your own pumpkins. Since I grew my own pumpkins this year we didn’t need any. Apple hill provides a hay ride and many other treats for the family. It is definitely worth the trip if you live in North Central Ohio. And a perfect outing for the fall.

2014-09-28 14.25.07

I can’t wait until the leaves start really turning here. It’s such a pretty time of year. Check back tomorrow for a new recipe!

Leave a Reply

