Red Hot Apples

Today is Tuesday, my least favorite day of the week. I’m not sure why exactly, and I could probably bore you with a bunch of excuses, but today I woke not feeling so bad about Tuesday. I think it’s mostly because I knew that I had Red Hot Apples waiting in the fridge for me to put in my lunch. It’s amazing how food can change my mood instantly. One of the things I love doing is planning my next meal. It allows me to continue to look forward to something in my day, even when things aren’t going quite as well as I like. Needless to say, lunch is the best part of my work day.

 2014-09-29 17.53.25

Red Hot Apples are a great side dish to any fall meal. We had these last night with some chicken and roasted vegetables. The apples are sweet and spicy and everything that makes up a nice healthy(ish) dish. There isn’t too much that goes into it, and it’s super easy to make. I’ve been making this recipe every fall the past several years now, and it’s become a family favorite.

 2014-09-29 18.11.58

This recipe starts off by peeling, coring, and slicing up the apples. I do mine in larger chunks, but if you prefer slices that’s great too! I used Jonalicious apples for my meal yesterday, but any baking apple would work. Put apples in a pot with Red Hot Cinnamon Imperial candies, lemon juice, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, a little butter, and some water. Stir the mixture in the pot and let it come to a boil. Then reduce the heat to medium and let the apples cook until tender when pierced with a fork. If you’re not worried about your sugar intake, you could probably add a little brown sugar for some extra sweetness. You could turn this into a delicious dessert by adding a little whipped cream or ice cream.

 2014-09-29 18.22.52

Red Hot Apples

  • 3-4 Apples
  • 3 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1 tsp. Lemon Juice
  • 3-4 Tbsp Red Hot Cinnamon Imperial Candies
  • 1 tsp  ground Cinnamon
  • ½ tsp groung Nutmeg
  • 2-3 Tbsp. Water

Peel, core, and slice apples and place into a pot. Add remaining ingredients and stir until combined, over high heat. Once apple mixture comes to a boil, reduce heat to medium and continue to cook until tender, about 20 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

