Zucchini Muffins

Happy October everyone! I really enjoy this month, it’s filled with all sorts of fun things to do and great things to eat, which is always a plus! The fall festivals, leaves changing, pumpkin treats, and Halloween are some of the wonderful things that come out of October. There are so many wonderful treats that can be made, and just not enough time to make them all. What is a girl to do!? I love the warm days and cool nights, where I can make a delicious pot of chili  and cuddle on the couch with my cat, Oscar.

 

I made zucchini muffins last night for my first treat, and I know that this is something you would probably see in August, but I had a little bit of zucchini left from my garden, and wanted to make one more recipe of zucchini bread. This recipe is my Great Grandma Abby’s recipe. It is so delicious, and it might be my favorite quick bread. Grandma Abby is an amazing woman, she is 101 years old and still is the center of any room she enters. She is a master at card games, I rarely see her lose. Some of my favorite foods are recipes that she has made, like her potato salad, egg nog pie and, of course, zucchini bread.

 

For her zucchini bread recipe, start by grating a cup of zucchini, and setting that aside. You can peel the skin if you like, but I leave the skin on the zucchini as I grate. I like how it gives the muffins specs of color. It’s also where many of the vitamins and minerals are in the zucchini. To make the batter, start by adding sugar, eggs, oil, and lemon and orange extracts to a medium bowl, and stir until combined. Next add the dry ingredients including the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and nutmeg. Then add the zucchini, and mix until all ingredients are incorporated. Be careful not to over mix as this can make the muffins dense, hard and chewy.

 2014-09-30 20.47.06

Zucchini Muffins

  • 1 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ c. vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. lemon extract
  • ½ tsp. orange extract
  • 1 ½ c. flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 c. zucchini, grated

Preheat oven to 375 degree. Mix together sugar, eggs, oil and lemon and orange extracts just until combined. Then add flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg and zucchini. Stir until just combined. Grease or line a muffin pan, and add batter until about 3/4 full in each cup. Bake at 375 degrees until golden brown for 20-22 minutes. Allow muffins to cool to room temperature before serving.

 

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

