Roasted Carrots

DSC_1051

One of the things that I love about cooking is how many different ways you can make something. Food can be so versatile and I’d love to show others how fun it can be to try something new.  A different spice or different technique can make a big difference in the way foods taste. Vegetables are one of the food groups that I love experimenting with. There is so much color and flavor, not to mention all the different nutrients.

DSC_1046 DSC_1048

Now that I’ve gotten you all excited about new food, I decided that it’s also nice to go back to some classics. I made roasted carrots last night to go along with our chicken and potatoes, and they were delicious! Roasted vegetables are one of my favorite go to side dishes. It’s a simple recipe that can be made with a variety of vegetables, including broccoli, cauliflower, bell pepper, potatoes (sweet or otherwise), Brussels sprouts, asparagus, and many others. Last night I had a bunch of carrots in the fridge so I thought I’d roast them. They were flavorful, crisp, and a tad bit sweet….a wonderful compliment to any meal.

DSC_1049

I started by peeling the carrots, and then cutting them in to smaller long pieces, but thicker than a julienne cut. I placed them on a baking pan and drizzled them with a little olive oil and sprinkled them some salt and pepper. Usually, I tend to add more spices foradditional flavor, like Italian spices, or cayenne for a bit of heat. But last night, I kept it simple. I roasted them in the oven at 350°F for about 35-40minutes. I hope you like them!

DSC_1050

Roasted Carrots

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 Carrots
  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

 

Directions:

Start by preheating the oven to 350°F. Take you carrots, and peel the outside then slice into long slivers. Place into 9×13 baking pan and drizzle olive oil over carrots. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, then put dish in oven and bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

